Frittelli’s amazing tree shot deemed illegal, handed 2-stroke penalty

South Africa’s Dylan Frittelli first assumed he’d just made one of the most amazing pars of his life when he walked off the par-4 6th hole during the final round of the RBC Heritage.

Frittelli’s wayward drive at the Harbour Town Links sixth hole finished in a tree. Specifically, it was found stuck in some Spanish moss hanging off a tree.

Rather than take an unplayable lie Frittelli choked down on his driver and knocked the ball out and on to the fairway – see video below. From there he hit a wedge to 10-feet and sunk the putt for what he thought was a par.

https://twitter.com/Dylan_Frittelli/status/1515792230295945217

The problem was, it’s against the rules of golf, (Rule 10.1c) to take a stance astride the line of play, or the extension of that line behind the ball. And subsequently, Frittelli was handed a two-stroke penalty.

Rule 10.1c
The player must not make a stroke from a stance with a foot deliberately placed on each side of, or with either foot deliberately touching, the line of play or an extension of that line behind the ball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.