GOLF RULES What happens when your ball comes to rest against a rake?

Here is a simple, visual explainer on what happens when your golf ball finishes up against a bunker rake.

Australian golf rules guru David Blake has been answering a series of questions at his GolfRules Questions YouTube Channel. You can also follow him on Facebook and Instagram, and there’s already a stack of great content – a lot of it concerning the commonly misunderstood rules of golf.

Read more

Cruel lip-out leads to one-stroke penalty after golfer takes too long to hit putt

Korea’s Seonghyeon Kim finished his final round at The CJ Cup this morning in controversial circumstances.

Faced with a four-foot putt for birdie at the 18th hole, Kim’s golf ball cruelly lipped out and sat precariously on the edge of the hole.

A putt that will leave your head spinning … especially if you wait until the end.

Read more

New local rule to limit length of golf club to 46-inches

A new local golf rule can be used to limit the length of a golf club to 46-inches, and Phil Mickelson isn’t happy.

In the first step (and hopefully not the last) to curb the distances that modern, elite golfers are hitting the golf ball, governing bodies have announced the introduction of a local rule to limit the length of a golf club that will come into effect on January 1, 2022.

Read more

GOLF RULES Playing opposite-handed to get free relief

Golf Australia’s golf rules guru David Blake has been going through a bunch of golf rules as part of Under The Card’s YouTube channel and this one may surprise you.

If it’s considered reasonable that you would have to play a shot opposite-handed, but you’re stance or swing is being interfered with by an immovable obstruction such as a cart path for example, then you’re entitled to free relief.

Read more

GOLF RULES REMINDER Playing original ball vs provisional ball

You’ve hit a provisional golf ball after thinking your original ball may be lost. But what happens when your original golf ball is found?

Under The Card posted this nice rules reminder of this situation, and we’re sharing it below.

I think it’s worth noting that once the original ball is found within three minutes, and you choose to go back and play another golf ball as one of your options for an unplayable lie, you cannot use that provisional you first used off the tee.

Read more