Here is why Cameron Smith copped a two-stroke penalty the day after his third round

A day after his round, Open champion Cameron Smith was handed a two-stroke penalty.

There was a bit of controversy before Cameron Smith took to the first tee to begin his final round of the FedEx St.Jude Championship.

Smith had completed his third round just two strokes behind the leader – keenly aware that a win would see him climb to the top of the World Golf Rankings.

However, upon arriving at the golf course, rules officials handed Smith a two-stroke penalty because of an incident during his third round.

Smith had found the water at the par-3 4th hole on Saturday and was forced to take a drop. Except he didn’t drop the golf ball entirely outside the penalty area – his ball can be clearly seen touching the red line.

Here is how it all went down.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *