Zach Johnson accidentally hits his golf ball during practice swing

Newly installed Ryder Cup captain and two-time major champion, Zach Johnson did something more reminiscent of a weekend hacker.

This is just weird. Zach Johnson accidentally hit his golf ball during his practice swing at THE PLAYERS Championship.

In the video below, you can see the toe of Johnson’s driver hit the ball on his practice swing and it careers off into the crowd. Under Rule 6.2b (5), the ball wasn’t in play and he was not intending to hit it, so Johnson was allowed to re-tee the golf ball without penalty.

What’s even weirder is that this isn’t the first time Zach Johnson has been captured committing this irregularity.

Back in the 2019 Masters, cameras caught Johnson doing the same thing on the 13th tee at Augusta National.

You’d think he’d just step back a bit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *