Australia wins Eisenhower Trophy by a whopping 19-strokes

Australia has won its first Eisenhower Trophy in 20 years in emphatic fashion by beating it’s nearest rival by a whopping 19-strokes in Mexico.

The combination of Cameron Davis, Curtis Luck and Harrison Endycott were simply amazing, winning the world amateur teams championship for the first time in 20 years.

Australia’s victorious Eisenhower Trophy team. From left to right: Harrison Endycott, Cameron Davis, Curtis Luck and team manager Matt Cutler. Source: Golf Australia

The teams event sees the best two of three scores each day contributing to the team total and Australia reached an incredible score of 38-under par, a whopping 19-strokes clear of second-placed England.

Australia were led by 2015 Australian Amateur champion Cameron Davis of Monash Country Club in Sydney whose four rounds of 67-66-68-68 got him to 17-under par to win the event’s top individual award joining other big names to have claim the same honour including Jack Nicklaus, Bruce Devlin, Marcus Fraser, Ryan Moore and Rickie Fowler.

Western Australian Curtis Luck followed his US Amateur victory with a stunning week in Mexico, finishing in second place behind Davis while they were both superbly supported by Avondale Golf Club’s Harrison Endycott who finished in a tie for 16th.

The victory was Australia’s fourth at this prestigious event, their first since 1996 but none have been quite this dominant.

Expect to see the names of Endycott, Luck and Davis appearing on big tournament leaderboards in the coming decades.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *