Greg Norman Medal to be awarded to Australia’s best golfer

Australian golf now has its very own player of the year medal.

Greg Norman with the Greg Norman Medal in Sydney today. Image courtesy of PGA of Australia.

The PGA of Australia today launched their very own version of the Brownlow or Dally M Medal. The inaugural Greg Norman Medal will be presented to Australia’s best male or female professional golfer at a gala awards night preceding this year’s Australian PGA Championship on the Gold Coast.

On hand to make the announcement was non-other than the man whose name adorns the new, prestigious award, Greg Norman.

“I am deeply grateful and honoured to have this prestigious award named after me, which will hold a place of pride and prominence in my heart,” he said.

“Australian golf is in a great place right now, and I hope the young players out representing our country are inspired that hard work and perseverance can lead you to great things. My dream is to see others go on and achieve even more than I did.”

From the official press release:

The winner will be determined based on annual success on the Australian and International stage including all Professional tours such as the LPGA, ALPG & Ladies European Tour, and the (men’s) PGA Tour (America or Australasia), the European Tour and other Tours around the world, including those in Asia.

PGA of Australia Chief Executive Brian Thorburn said the award would at long last provide Australian golf with an opportunity to celebrate its key player’s success on the world stage.

“Australia’s athletes excel on the global sporting stage and in most sports we celebrate the success of our athletes on that stage. Whether it’s the Olympic Games, World Cups in Cricket, Soccer, the Rugby codes or Netball; or domestic sports such as the AFL, we recognise the champions who put Australia on that world stage and who excel in their chosen sport,” he said.

The Greg Norman medal will be judged by a five-member consisting of Peter O’Malley, Michael Long, Ian Baker-Finch, Jane Crafter and Graham Marsh.

We’ve got a pretty good idea on who the inaugural medal will be presented to in 2015…

Greg Norman with the Greg Norman Medal in Sydney today. Image courtesy of PGA of Australia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *