Australia stages record breaking comeback to win 2014 Women’s World Amateur Team Championships

Australia have staged a remarkable comeback to win the Women’s World Amateur Team Championship.

Photo courtesy of

Trailing by nine shots, the Australian team of Minjee Lee, Su Hyun Oh and Shelly Shin were able to make up ground and win the Espirito Santo Trophy in Japan – the biggest final round comeback in the history of the event.

Each of the 51 team consists of two or three players with the best two rounds from each team contributing to their daily total.

After a poor start, the Australians found themselves a long way behind leaders Canada who led the event going into each of the four rounds.

World number one ranked amateur Minjee Lee shot a final round 7-under 65. In combination with Su Hyun Oh’s 6-under 66, their combined 13-under score made up the nine shot deficit to claim the title for Australia for the first time since 2002.

They shot out of the blocks on the final day. Lee and Oh were a combined 7-under par through the opening six holes to put the pressure on Canada.

“They never thought they were out of it, but they were close to possibly being out of it,” Australian captain Matt Cutler said. “It was the fastest start you could ever see coming.”

Lee finished three strokes behind the individual winner, Canada’s Brooke Henderson who posted four rounds in the 60s finishing with an impressive 19-under par total for the event.

Final team scores
-29 Australia
-27 Canada
-26 South Korea
-20 Denmark
-19 Sweden, USA

Australia individual scores
Minjee Lee 73-70-64-65 (-16)
Su Hyun Oh 71-68-70-66 (-13)
Shelly Shin 74-70-72-72 (E)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *