Video: Ball resting against a bunker rake

What is the correct procedure when you golf ball is resting up against a rake?

This situation occurs so often it is worth a reminder. Mark the position of the ball before you move the rake so that if the ball rolls away you can replace it as near as possible to where it initially lay.

4 thoughts on “Video: Ball resting against a bunker rake

  • April 26, 2011 at 07:26
    Permalink

    does the same procedure apply to tree leafs and branches?

    Reply
  • April 26, 2011 at 07:37
    Permalink

    Nope, if your ball moves while moving leaves or branches ‘through the green’ you must replace the ball and incur a one shot penalty.

    Reply
  • April 26, 2011 at 10:37
    Permalink

    The rake is a movable obstruction, and you may remove it. If the ball moves, it must be replaced without penalty on the spot, and if the ball can’t remain at rest at that spot, you find the nearest spot not nearer the hole and not in a hazard where it will remain at rest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.