Can you play from the wrong Green?

Aussie Golfer raised the topic of playing a ball onto the wrong putting green.

Can you play from the wrong putting green?

No. If you do it will be a 2-shot penalty in stroke play or loss of hole in match play.

According to Rule 25-3 the ball must be dropped within one club length of the nearest point of relief. Not nearer the hole and without penalty. This only applies if the ball is on the green, not if a players stance are on the wrong green. Now that metal spikes are outlawed I suppose it’s not a big deal if a player twists during his golf shot on a green.

There is one nice thing to remember. Before taking a drop, you can clean your ball! I’ll rephrase that, your playing partner who hit the errant shot in the first place may clean his or her ball before dropping.

See the Rules of Golf at the R&A for more details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *