On course recently there were some differing opinions as to whether the pin can be attended when another golfer plays a shot from off the green.
Confusion abounded and we all agreed to disagree but what is the correct rule?
As a junior, Aussie Golfer was always taught that the flagstick could not be attended when playing from off the green but it seems the rule has changed. According to Rule 17-1 concerning the flagstick, it can be attended, removed or held up to indicate the position of the hole from anywhere on the golf course.
A caveat to this rule is if the flagstick is not attended, removed or held up before the player makes a stroke, it must not be attended, removed or held up during the stroke. In otherwords, whatever is the situation before the shot, it must be the same afterwards.
For more information, go check out the official R&A Rules of Golf.