Rory McIlroy’s drive ends up in spectators pocket: video

What’s the ruling when your golf ball ends up in the pocket of a spectator?

With every week comes another ‘highlight’ from Rory McIlroy. Last week he featured in some four-putting capers, this week one of Rory’s drives ends up in the pocket of a spectator.

Rory McIlroy shot the best score of the second round of the season ending TOUR Championship. His superb 5-under 65 included this moment of craziness when his errant drive at the par-4 14th hole went straight into the pocket of a spectator.

What’s the ruling?

Well it seems as if the spectator’s position is marked when the ball entered the pocket. The ball is then lifted out of the pocket and dropped near the marked position and play proceeds without penalty.

Good to know but probably won’t be needed for any of us mere mortals this weekend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *