Golf rules: Robert Rock signs off for a wrong score

The antiquated rules of golf reared its head yesterday when Enagland’s Robert Rock found himself disqualified from the Irish Open after returning an incorrect scorecard.

Rock was runner-up in this European Tour event last year and was one of the favourites going into the week before his quick exit. He had just signed off on an opening round 65 when tournament officials noticed Rock had registered a 4 and a 3 on the 14th and 15th holes. In fact, he had taken a 3 and a 4 at  the Killarney Golf and Fishing Club.

So despite his total of 65 being accurate, his hole-by-hole score was not. Instant DQ.

It is a good reminder to us all even though your average golf club officials aren’t nearly as thorough as this. It is not good enough to have the same score on both your own and your marker’s scorecard. They must be identical.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *