PRESIDENTS CUP / Top-10 players for International and US teams locked in

Three Australians golfers have gained an automatic spot on the International Team for the 2017 Presidents Cup.

The top-10 players for the International and US teams are now locked in for the Presidents Cup to be held at Liberty National GC in New Jersey, September 28 – October 1.

Nick Price will captain the International team spearheaded by Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama who finished as the topped rank International Team player. Australians Jason Day, Adam Scott and Marc Leishman have grabbed an automatic berth in the team that also includes three South Africans (Louis Oosthuizen, Charl Schwartzel and Branden Grace) and a golfers from South Korea, Venezuela and Canada; Si woo Kim, Jhonattan Vegas and Adam Hadwin.

Adam Scott is the most experienced player to earn an automatic spot on either team played in the last seven Presidents Cup’s with a record of 13-17-5.

Embed from Getty Images

Like every Presidents Cup, the US team is a formidable one that captain Steve Stricker will be relishing to take to Liberty National. Lead by Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth and Justin Thomas, the team also includes US Open champion Brooks Koepka, Rickie Fowler and Matt Kuchar.

Despite only ever beating the US team once in the history of the event (Royal Melbourne in 1998) there is renewed optimism in the International team camp after a close, heart-breaking loss to the US at the 2015 Presidents Cup in South Korea in 2015.

Team captains Nick Price and Steve Stricker will make their captain’s picks in a few weeks to make up the 12-man teams. The Presidents Cup format consists of four days of golf that includes two sessions of four-ball matches, two sessions of foursomes, followed by a final day of 12 single matches of match play.

Hideki Matsuyama
Jason Day
Adam Scott
Louis Oosthuizen
Marc Leishman
Charl Schwartzel
Branden Grace
Si Woo Kim
Jhonattan Vegas
Adam Hadwin
Nick Price (captain)
Dustin Johnson
Jordan Spieth
Justin Thomas
Rickie Fowler
Daniel Berger
Brooks Koepka
Kevin Kisner
Patrick Reed
Matt Kuchar
Kevin Chappell
Steve Stricker (captain)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *