It is always a useful exercise to learn from the best. When it comes to golf, it is wise to learn from the professionals, and in this particular case, learn from their mistakes. All 26 of them.
Japanese golfer, Ryuji Imada plays on the PGA Tour where the rules allow a one club length placement of the ball on the fairway when preferred lies are in place. On the weekend he was playing in a pro-celebrity tournament in China under Asian Tour rules where you are only allowed to place the ball within the length of one scorecard.
He had been playing under the PGa Tour rules before his playing partner Danny Lee pointed out the error on the 12th hole. Imada calculated he had broken the rules around 13 times and was given 13 two-shot penalties; 26 in total. At the end of the round he finished 24-over, 26 shots off the lead.
Imada mentioned after his round that he had failed to read the local rules sheet and summed up the situation, “I”m an idiot”.
Don’t be an idiot. Read the local rules.
Hello Birdie is the first game-planning app for golf
2021 KPMG WOMEN'S PGA CHAMPIONSHIP: Australian TV and Streaming times
OLYMPIC GOLF Men’s Final Olympic Golf Rankings Published
US OPEN Streaker interrupts final round to hit a few golf balls
Jon Rahm captures first major with thrilling victory at US Open