It’s Presidents Cup week!

… and we’re sick of losing!

The 2011 winning US Presidents Cup team. Courtesy of

The 10th Presidents Cup will tee off on Thursday this week at Muirfield Village, Ohio with the International Team hoping to score a massive upset against a power packed US Team.

Here is our quick guide to what is happening this week including an explanation on the formats being played and a link to Australian TV coverage.

Muirfield Village, Ohio – full hole-by-hole guide


International Team
Captain: Nick Price

Adam Scott (Australia)
Jason Day (Australia)
Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)
Ernie Els (South Africa)
Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa)
Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)
Branden Grace (South Africa)
Graham DeLaet (Canada)
Richard Sterne (South Africa)
Angel Cabrera (Argentina)
Brendon De Jonge (Zimbabwe)
Marc Leishman (Australia)

US Team
Captain: Fred Couples

Tiger Woods
Brandt Snedeker
Phil Mickelson
Matt Kuchar
Keegan Bradley
Jason Dufner
Bill Haas
Hunter Mahan
Steve Stricker
Zach Johnson
Webb Simpson
Jordan Spieth

Format – match play
Day 1: 6x four-ball matches
Day 2: 6x foursome matches
Day 3: 5x four-ball in the morning followed by 5x foursome matches in the afternoon
Day 4: 12x single matches

This will be the first Presidents Cup since 1996 where the four-ball matches will be played ahead of the opening foursomes. The International Team has a poor record in the odd four-ball format with a 5 – 13 opening day losing record in the past three Presidents Cup.

Four-ball: Teams of two compete against each other. Each player uses his own ball and lowest score is used to determine team score.
Foursomes: Teams of two players use one ball and play alternate shot.

Australian TV Viewing Times
FoxSports has exclusive live coverage that starts this 2am this Friday, full details here:

Official website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *