The Australian Summer of Golf begins

The brief but always entertaining Australian swing is almost upon us again kicking off with the Australian Masters in Melbourne in two weeks. Here is a quick look at the major tournaments on Australian golf calendar for the upcoming summer.

2010 JBWere Australian Masters
Victoria Golf Club, Melbourne, Vic
November 11 – 14, 2010 Buy tickets

The JBWere Masters was where Tiger Woods’ life began to unravel last year but given his divorce settlement, it is not totally surprising he has taken the cash and gracing us with his presence again. Sergio Garcia has looked everywhere but Australia for his golf game and will try and find it in the Melbourne sandbelt. Camilo Villegas will be on the plane too after hearing good things from his brother last year.
2010 Australian Open
The Lakes Golf Club, Sydney, NSW
December 2 – 5, 2010 Buy tickets

There is always drama at the Australian Open which rolls around a few weeks after in Sydney. Adam Scott’s victory last year didn’t spark his resurgence as we expected but he’ll be back to defend his title. Greg Norman will be trying to win his sixth but look out for Fred Couples. The man with the cool shoes has won four times on the Champions Tour in 2010.

Hyatt Regency Coolum, Sunshine Coast, Qld
December 9 – 12, 2010 Buy tickets

Robert Allenby will be defending his title at the the PGA Championship in Coolum. This is one of the most relaxed tournaments in the world where not even John Daly could get worked up enough to throw a camera if he wanted to. Put your shades on as he’ll be back as well as a whole host of other Aussies including Geoff Ogilvy and Adam Scott.

2011 Handa Australian Women’s Open
Commonwealth Golf Club, Melbourne, Vic
February 3 – 6, 2011 Buy tickets
2011 ANZ Ladies Masters
Royal Pines Resort, Gold Coast, Qld
February 10 – 13, 2011 Buy tickets

The big tournaments for the ladies start next year with the Australian Women’s Open in Melbourne followed closely by the ANZ Ladies Masters on the Golf Coast. Fields for these events will be finalised as the tournaments draw nearer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *