Rules reminder: Olesen accidentally hits his golf ball

A strange thing happened during the second round of the Turkish Airlines Open. 

Denmark’s Thorbjorn Olesen was setting up for his bogey putt at the 12th hole during the Turkish Airlines Open on Friday, when a weird thing happened. He accidentally hit the ball – see video of the incident here.

Olesen called in officials who agreed that he was not attempting to actually play at the ball when it was struck but according to Rule-18 he must replace the ball and incur a one-stroke penalty. Olesen did that and had to settle for double-bogey.

Has Olesen not replaced the ball he would have been looking at a two-stroke penalty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *