Phil Mickelson wins WGC Mexico; first victory since 2013 Open Championship

Phil Mickelson has won his first golf tournament since 2013 after claiming the 2018 WGC Mexico Championship.

Phil Mickelson beat Justin Thomas at the first playoff hole to win the WGC Mexico Championship and end a tournament winning drought stretching back to the 2013 Open championship.

Mickelson now has 43 PGA Tour wins including three WGC victories to his name but it took an extra hole and a dramatic finish to decide the winner.

Thomas produced the shot of the tournament to take the clubhouse lead at 16-under par and give Mickelson and England’s Tyrrell Hatton a score to chase. Thomas had the galleries in raptures as he holed out at the 72nd hole of the tournament for an eagle of his own.

The two-shot lead was eventually reeled in by Mickelson on the back of consecutive birdies, and Hatton courtesy of a superb eagle at the par-5 15th and saw both players in a tie for the lead coming down the last hole at Club de Golf Chapultepec in Mexico.

Hatton pushed his approach shot into the greenside rough and could not get up and down, eventually settling for a share of third place with Spain’s Rafa Cabrera Bello.

Mickelson was also disappointed with his approach to the 72nd hole but a two-putt par saw him earn a place along side Thomas in a playoff to decide a winner.

Mickelson almost won the tournament with a birdie at the first playoff hole, the par-3 17th. Mickelson saw his putt shave the hole but the tap-in par was enough to win when Thomas could not get up-and-down from the back of the green.

The best of the Aussies came from Adam bland who finished in a tie for 18th place at 7-under par. Marc Leishman had a day to foeget. Playing alongside Thomas, Leishman carded a 6-over par 77 to tumble 26 places down the leaderboard on the final day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *