Kuchar forgets to replace his marker: rules reminder video

Matt Kuchar provides us with a little rules reminder on marking and replacing your golf ball on the green.

Well before Jason Day’s victory at the WGC Accenture Match Play and well before Victor Dubuisson’s final day heroics came this odd little incident that serves as a rules reminder about marking and replacing your ball in the correct spot n the putting green.

Matt Kuchar faced up against Austrian Bernd Weisberger in his first round match of the WGC Accenture Match Play. At the 14th hole he was four holes up and cruising. So much so that he forgot to replace his marker back to its original position after moving it for Weisberger’s putt.

Kuchar, and everyone else thought the match was over after he made birdie to win 5&4. Not so fast.

Weisberger’s caddie asked Kuchar’s caddie if he had replaced his marker before making the birdie putt. Kuchar’s caddie asked him after everyone had shaken hands and you can see a slight look of worry creep over Kuchar’s face in the video.

For the breaking this rule in match play, that’s a loss of hole and on to the 15th hole they went. Kuchar eventually won the match 3&2.

Hat tip to Geoff Shackleford.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *