Jason Day wins The Don award: acceptance speech video

Jason Day has been honoured by Sport Australia Hall of Fame by being awarded The Don award for 2015.

It’s hard to argue that Day’s stunning two month hot-streak was clearly the best result by an Australian athlete in 2015. His rise to the world number one golf ranking was highlighted by the incredible victory at Whistling Straits to win the 2015 US PGA Championship.

Jason Day joins Adam Scott as the only Australian golfers to have won the award named after Australia’s greatest ever cricketer, Don Bradman. The other nominees for the prestigious award were Mick Fanning, The Socceroos, Miranda Carfrae, Kurt Fearnley, Sally Fitzgibbons, Emily Seebohm, Shannon Eckstein, Julian Wilson, Jarryd Hayne and Anna Meares.

Previous winners of The Don Award include The Socceroos, Sally Pearson, Adam Scott, Shane Warne, Cadel Evans and Steven Bradbury.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *