Not so much trivia this week but a little brush up on the rules from something that arose during a round of golf yesterday. A fellow golfer sculled a ball (not me of course!) across the green, straight over the flag and into the water on the other side. The distance from where the shot was taken was closer to the pin that where it entered the water.
When entering a hazard the normal rule states that a 1-shot penalty is taken and a drop is taken anywhere along the line of entry into the hazard, no closer the hole.
What would the ruling be here?
Danny Lee six-putts from four-feet, slams putter, withdraws with wrist injury
Justin Thomas leads US Open: First round video highlights
US Open caddie gives hilarious tour of dodgy motel room
US Open at Winged Foot looks like it will be brutal for everybody
Rewatch Geoff Ogilvy's 2006 US Open victory at Winged Foot