Golf Premier League launched in India

Darren Clarke and Angel Cabrera to feature at inaugural Pearls Golf Premier League.

The Pearls Golf Premier League uniforms. Source
India have announced their own golf version on of the IPL with an eight team franchise tournament launched in Mumbai. 
Golfers were auctioned off, very much in the style of the Indian Premier League cricket tournament to create eight teams to compete in the inaugural Pearls Golf Premier League. The idea was hatched by former Indian European Tour player Shiv Kapur who admitted that the idea was influenced by the IPL.

Each team (with names such as the Maharashtra 59ers and the Gujarat Underdawgs) consists of four players who will compete in the three day event at the Aamby Valley Golf course from February 7 to 10.

Around US$700,000 was spent on the 24 golfers including Michael Campbell, Darren Clarke, Rich Beem and Angel Cabrera. Campbell won the highest bid of $61,000 with Darren Clarke and Angel Cabrera picked up for $55,000.

Like the shorter 20/20 form of cricket, the Pearls Golf Premier League will see the teams play three shorter 14-hole rounds in a stroke play/best-ball format with a maximum of 30 seconds allowed for a player to hit a shot.
Interestingly, a Sri Lankan team is included in the event. The Colombo 6’s are being promoted by Sri Lanka’s cricket captain Mahela Jayawardene currently on tour in Australia.
I didn’t see this coming at all but I love the idea of it, especially the 30 second rule. The IPL and 20/20 format reinvigorated cricket all around the world. Time will tell if this does the same for golf.
The teams for the Pearl Golf Premier League:
Shubhkamna Eagles: Anirban Lahiri, Daniel Chopra (Sweden), Michael Campbell (New Zealand), Shamim Khan.
Delhi Darts: Rahil Ganjee, Scott Barr (Australia), Johan Edfors (Sweden), Ajeetesh Sandhu.
Maharashtra 59’ers: Shiv Kapur, Scott Hend (Australia), Angel Cabrera (Argentina), Ashok Kumar.
Witalsee Punjab Lancers: Gaganjeet Bhullar, Thaworn Wiratchant (Thailand), Shaun Micheel (US), Rashid Khan.
Gujarat Underdawgs: Digvijay Singh, Jarmo Sandelin (Sweden), David Howell (England), Gaurav Ghei.
Uttarakhand Lions: Shankar Das, Chapchai Nirat (Thailand), Darren Clarke (N Ireland), Mukesh Kumar.
Colombo 6’s: Chiragh Kumar, Jason Knutzon (Australia), Simon Dyson (England), Mithun Perera (Sri Lanka).
Tamil Nadu Pullees: Himmat Rai, Siddikur (Bangladesh), Rich Beem (US), Harendra Gupta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *