Final results of our Australian golf experts’ tipping challenge!

We have a winner…
We pitted some of Australia’s golf experts against each other to see who can make the best predictions for the three big Australian golf tournaments. We used a similar point scoring system to the F1’s for the Talisker Australian Masters, Emirates Australian Open and Australian PGA Championship. Three picks for each expert and all points are totalled.
Finish  1st   2nd   3rd   4th   5th   6-10   11-15   16-20   21-25   26-30 
Points 25 18 15 12 10 8 6 4 2 1

And the winner is…

The Sydney Morning Herald’s Richard Hinds!

Richard was just too solid in his tipping and with two out of his three picks in the top-10 at the Australian PGA Championship, it was enough to get him over the line.

This final tournament proved the most difficult to predict (especially given an unknown Victorian won it) but interestingly, had Peter Senior not collapsed on the final day, Martin Blake would have taken the honours.

That’s all in the past now, our golf tipping champion is Richard Hinds.

A special thanks to all the participants who were kind enough to humour me with their tips each week – even though there are few harder sports in which to tip the winners. Please follow them all on Twitter but clicking on their names below.

Emirates Australian Open results

Pts Pts Pts PGA AO AM Total
Richard Hinds
(Sydney Morning Herald)
Senden T8 8 O’Hern T60 Bowditch T8 8 16 22 51 89
Grant Dodd
(Network Ten, ESPN Star)
Gardiner MC Ogilvy T4 12 Chalmers T21 2 14 19 51 84
Martin Blake
(Freelance Golf Writer)
Chalmers T21 2 Senior T27 1 Ogilvy T4 12 15 18 51 84
Luke Elvy
(Network Ten)
Senden T8 8 Senior T27 1 Appleby T48 9 22 43 74
Brendan James
(Golf Australia Magazine)
Ogilvy T4 12 O’Hern T60 Senior T27 1 13 12 44 69
Andy Maher
(Network Ten, SEN, FoxSports)
O’Hern T60 Gardiner MC Senior T27 1 1 20 43 64
Richard Fellner
(Inside Golf Magazine)
Senden T8 8 Chalmers T21 2 Goggin T8 8 18 6 34 58
Mark Hayes
Senden T8 8 Chalmers T21 2 Griffin T8 8 18 14 25 57
Brenton Speed
Senden T8 8 Senior T27 1 O’Hern T60 9 9 33 50
Mark Allen
(SEN Radio)
Chalmers T21 2 Pratt MC Percy T48 2 4 26 32

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *