Darren Clarke finalises Europe’s Ryder Cup team with captain’s picks: video

Europe’s Ryder Cup captain Darren Clarke finalised his team today by adding three wildcard picks to the nine players who had automatically qualified.

Lee Westwood, Martin Kaymer and Belgium’s Thomas Pieters have been added as Darren Clarke’s captain’s picks to the European team to play the Ryder Cup in the US at Hazeltine National Golf Club, Sep 27 – Oct 2, 2016. Captain Darren Clark admitted it was a difficult decision to leave out Scotland’s Russell Know who won his second PGA Tour event a few weeks ago.

The full European Ryder Cup team is now finalised: Rafa Cabrera Bello, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Sergio Garcia, Martin Kaymer, Rory McIlroy, Thomas Pieters, Justin Rose, Henrik Stenson, Andy Sullivan, Lee Westwood, Danny Willett, Chris Wood.

Eight players have automatically qualified for the USA Team with four more wildcard picks to be made by captain Davis Love III in three weeks time.

The current US Ryder Cup team: Zach Johnson, Dustin Johnson, Brooks Keopka, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Brandt Snedeker, Jordan Spieth, Jimmy Walker.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *