Bryson DeChambeau is true to his word and is putting with the flagstick in

Bryson DeChambeau thinks there is an advantage to putting with the flagstick left in, so that’s what he did at the Sentry Tournament of Champions.

Changes to the rules of golf, which were introduced on January 1, 2019 include the option to putt with the flagstick left in.

Last year American Bryson DeChambeau suggested he was going was going to putt with the flagstick in because he thought there would be a definite advantage in doing so.

And he has proven true to his word by doing just that during the opening tournament of the PGA Tour season, the Sentry Tournament of Champions in Hawaii.

DeChambeau said that provided the flagsticks were made of fiberglass, the golf ball would lose a energy in striking the flag and have more chance of falling into the hole.

It was hard to argue with his putting stats, particularly in the opening two rounds where he led the field in stroke gained on the green. In the third round DeChambeau didn’t putt with the pin in as often as conditions got windier and the flagstick wasn’t staying as straight.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *