Big names confirmed for 2014 Women’s Australian Open

Nine of the world’s top-20 female golfers have confirmed their spots in the field for the 2014 ISPS Handa Australia Open to be held at Victoria Golf Club – February, 13 – 16.

Golf Australia announced today that American major champion Paula Creamer will join Norwegian Suzann Pettersen (World Number 2) and fellow Americans Stacy Lewis (World Number 3) and Lexi Thompson (World Number 9) on Melbourne’s sandbelt to compete for the US$1.2 million ISPS HANDA Women’s Australian Open from 13-16 February at Victoria Golf Club.

Creamer (World Number 13) won her first major at the 2010 U.S Women’s Open, one of nine LPGA Tour victories, and will be making her ISPS HANDA Women’s Australian Open debut.

“I am very excited about coming out to Australia for the first time to compete in the ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open. Australia has always been on my list of places that I wanted to visit and play golf and I’m looking forward to the championship in February,” Creamer said.

The four new names confirmed for the event will join other big names already set to tee it up at Victoria Golf Club including Lydia Ko, Karrie Webb and last year’s winner Jiyai Shin.

“The sandbelt courses in Melbourne are well-known around the world and Victoria Golf Club will be a great experience. A win in Melbourne would, of course, be an ideal way to cap my time in Australia.”

Pettersen won five times worldwide last year including her second Major at the Evian Championship while Lewis also won her second Major at the RICOH Women’s British Open on the Old Course at St Andrews. 18 year-old Thompson won in Malaysia and Mexico to take her career victories tally to five.

The impressive list of names adds to the already confirmed World Number 4 global phenomenon Kiwi Lydia Ko, World Number 7 Karrie Webb and defending champion Jiyai Shin in the field in Melbourne.

ABC TV will broadcast 15 hours of live coverage across all four days of the Women’s Australian Open.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *