2019 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play: Format, groups and Aussie match-ups

Match play golf arrive sin Austin, Texas this week in the form of the WGC Dell Technologies Match Play.

The WGC Dell Match Play begins this Wednesday (Thursday morning Australian time) at Austin Country Club with three Australians are in the 64-man field.

But it’s not just any 64-man field; 64 of the best 66 players in the world have been drawn out in 16 groups of four. See groups below.

Each player will play three round robin matches over the first three days with the winner of each group progressing to the knock-out round of 16 beginning on Saturday morning. The two undefeated players playing in an 18-hole match on Sunday afternoon.

Jason Day, Marc Leishman and  Cameron Smith will carry Australian hopes this week. Adam Scott has chosen to sit out this event to focus on the first major of the year in a few weeks.

Cameron Smith has been drawn in one of the most interesting groups being pitched against Abraham Ancer, Paul Casey and Charles Howell III. Smith has a lethal short game to worry anyone in this format but it’s most likely Casey who won last week’s Valspar Championship who he’ll need to beat to have a shot at getting through to the next round.

Jason Day has been drawn in what could be described as the group of death facing Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk and Henrik Stenson this week.

Day withdrew with back issues a few weeks ago, followed it up with a tie for eighth at The PLAYERS, and then missed the cut last week. This could be a challenge but few golfers love a fight in the face of adversity at Jason Day.

Marc Leishman began the year on fire but has struggled over the last month but we think this format may bring his A-game back having been drawn in a decent group alongside Russell Knox, Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Bryson DeChambeau. 


Group 1
Dustin Johnson (1)
Hideki Matsuyama (24)
Branden Grace (40)
Emiliano Grillo (53)
Group 2
Justin Rose (2)
Gary Woodland (22)
Eddie Pepperell (34)
Emiliano Grillo (53)
Group 3
Brooks Koepka (3)
Alex Noren (27)
HaoTong Li (36)
Tom Lewis (60)
Group 4
Rory McIlroy (4)
Matthew Fitzpatrick (32)
Justin Harding (47)
Luke List (64)

Group 5
Justin Thomas (5)
Keegan Bradley (31)
Matt Wallace (33)
Lucas Bjerregaard (50)
Group 6
Bryson DeChambeau (6)
Marc Leishman (17)
Kiradech Aphibarnrat (39)
Russell Knox (59)
Group 7
Francesco Molinari (7)
Webb Simpson (21)
Thorbjørn Olesen (45)
Satoshi Kodaira (63)
Group 8
Jon Rahm (8)
Matt Kuchar (23)
J.B. Holmes (43)
Si Woo Kim (54)

Group 9
Xander Schauffele (9)
Rafa Cabrera Bello (29)
Tyrrell Hatton (35)
Lee Westwood (62)
Group 10
Paul Casey (10)
Cameron Smith (25)
Charles Howell III (42)
Abraham Ancer (58)
Group 11
Tommy Fleetwood (11)
Louis Oosthuizen (19)
Kyle Stanley (41)
Byeong Hun An (49)
Group 12
Jason Day (12)
Phil Mickelson (20)
Henrik Stenson (37)
Jim Furyk (52)

Group 13
Tiger Woods (13)
Patrick Cantlay (18)
Brandt Snedeker (44)
Aaron Wise (61)

Group 14
Tony Finau (14)
Ian Poulter (30)
Kevin Kisner (48)
Keith Mitchell (56)[/one_fourth]

Group 15
Bubba Watson (15)
Jordan Spieth (28)
Billy Horschel (38)
Kevin Na (57)[/one_fourth]
Group 16
Patrick Reed (16)
Sergio Garcia (26)
Shane Lowry (46)
Andrew Putnam (51)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *