2015 Presidents Cup: How the teams are shaping up

We’re still four months out from the 2015 Presidents Cup in South Korea, here ‘s a look at how the teams are shaping up.

We are 130 days out from the 2015 Presidents Cup which will be held in South Korea for the first time October 8 – 11.

The Jack Nicklaus GC Korea will host the 11th PResidents Cup that will see Nick Price return as captain of the International Team, and Jay Haas taking over duties from Fred Couples as captain of the US Team.

And if the tournament was staged today, this is how the teams would line-up (excluding the two captain’s picks):

Jason Day
Adam Scott
Hideki Matsuyama
Louis Oosthuizen
Thongchai Jaidee
Branden Grace
Charl Schwartzel
Anirban Lahiri
Byeong-Hun An
John Senden
Nick Price (captain)
Team USA
Jordan Spieth
Jimmy Walker
Bubba Watson
Chris Kirk
Patrick Reed
Jim Furyk
Dustin Johnson
Rickie Fowler
Matt Kuchar
JB Holmes
Jay Haas (captain)

Byeong-Hun An’s great win at last week’s BMW PGA Championship has catapulted the South Korean into the top-10 for an automatic spot on the International Team. For the golf-loving public in South Korea, to have one of their own in the team would be great for the event.

An wouldn’t be the only débutante to be playing. India’s Anibarn Lahiri and Thailand’s Thongchai Jaidee would also be making there first appearances at a Presidents Cup if they can hold on to their positions.

Presidents Cup regulars Geoff Ogilvy, Ernie Els and Angle Cabrera are well down the rankings list and need a big few months to earn themselves a spot on the team in October.

Interestingly, the American team would feature four players never to have played in a Presidents Cup; Rickie Fowler, Chris Kirk, Jimmy Walker, and JB Holmes. But all but Chris Kirk have previous Ryder Cup experience.

Looking at the teams it’s probably something of an understatement to say that the Internationals will head to South Korea as the underdog. But golf is a funny game…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *