2015 Presidents Cup captains announced

Nick Price and Jay Haas named as team captains for the 2015 Presidents Cup in South Korea.

Nick Price and Jay Haas have been named as team captains for the 2015 Presidents Cup to be held in South Korea in October 2015.

It will be the second time that Zimbabwean Nick Price will have captained the International Team, but Jay Haas takes over the reins of the US Team for the first time.

Previous US Team captain, Fred Couples will still be a part of the action in South Korea after taking an assistant captains role. KJ Choi has been named as one of Nick Price’s assistants for the International Team.

Haas becomes the sixth Presidents Cup captain to lead the USA Team. Jack Nicklaus has lead the team on four occasions (1998, 2003, 2005 and 2007), Fred Couples has been captain in three Presidents Cup’s (2009, 2011, 2013) while Ken Venturi (2000), Arnold Palmer (1996) and Hale Irwin (1994) have all been captain on just the one occasion.

Nick Price joins Greg Norman (2009, 2011), Gary Player (2003, 2005, 2007) and Peter Thomson (1996, 1998, 2000) as captains of the International Team on multiple occasions. David Graham captained the team in the inaugural event but was controversially booted off of the team prior to the 1996 Presidents Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *