- Michelle Wie was silly to make such a mistake and the rules are the rules.
- Why did it take a day (after she’d got within a stroke of the lead!) to be disqualified?
- It was a mistake, not cheating and therefore the penalty is harsh.
- The rule saying you must sign your card before leaving the scorers tent is ridiculous.
- The rule saying you must sign your card is antiquated and should be removed from the game.
I must have read 50 or so different views on this and was beginning to wonder whether I even need to write mine. A discussion with other golfers the other night raised these points:
- It’s a relic of when golf was an amateur sport only. These days in professional golf surely you saying you got a 5, and your marker agreeing should be enough. It’s all on TV anyway.
- No other sport makes you sign for your own score or call your own penalties.
And just as a reminder for you all, here’s rule 6.6a and b:
a. Recording Scores
After each hole the marker should check the score with the competitor and record it. On completion of the round the marker must sign the score card and hand it to the competitor. If more than one marker records the scores, each must sign for the part for which he is responsible.
b. Signing and Returning Score Card
After completion of the round, the competitor should check his score for each hole and settle any doubtful points with the Committee. He must ensure that the marker or markers have signed the score card, sign the score card himself and return it to the Committee as soon as possible.