Zach Johnson survives playoff to win 2015 Open Championship

Zach Johnson beat Marc Leishman and Louis Oosthuizen in a playoff to win his second major.

Zach Johnson has won the 2015 Open Championship after beating Louis Oosthuizen and Marc Leishman in a four-hole playoff.

Johnson was the first into the clubhouse at 15-under par courtesy of a birdie at the final hole. Australian Marc Leishman had held a two shot lead only moments before but made a bogey on the 16th after his par-saving putt just shaved the hole to find himself back into a share of the lead.

A solid par on the 17th gave him a chance to claim the Claret Jug in regular time, but his birdie putt on the 18th hole again just shaved the hole sending him into the four-hole playoff with Johnson.

Oosthuizen joined them after he did what Jason Day and Jordan Spieth couldn’t – he made birdie at the 18th and the South African probably went into the playoff as the favourite as a previous winner of The Open at St.Andrews.

Day could feel a little annoyed at his Open experience. He was one of the few players who went out on the course in the early hours of Saturday. He dropped two shots before the day was called off, something he would’ve liked back on Sunday afternoon.

Leishman’s majestic weekend rounds of 64-66 were the best in Open history but all his good work would cruelly come unstuck on his first shot of the playoff. His drive found a divot on the first fairway and with a tight front pin, he was no chance of getting it close.

When Oosthuizen and Johnson made birdie, and Leishman made bogey, the Australians chances of a first major title were all but over.

Johnson made birdie on the second to take a one shot advantage over Oosthuizen and when all players made bogey at the 17th hole, Oosthuizen needed a birdie to tie after Johnson made par.

The South African’s birdie putt missed to the right, earning Zach Johnson the Open Championship. Suddenly he is a two-time major winner with his name etched into the Claret Jug.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *