“Some golfer!”; when Peter Thomson won at Hoylake: video

Peter Thomson won five Open championships. His third was won at Hoylake.

Ahead of the final round of the 2014 Open Championship at Royal Liverpool (or Hoylake) I thought it was a good time to remember Peter Thomson’s victory in 1956.

It was Thomson’s third consecutive Open Championship win, something only three Scots had done before: Bob Ferguson, Jamie Anderson and Tom Morris Jr.

Golfers to have won The Open championship at Royal Liverpool:

2006: Tiger Woods (US)
1967: Roberto De Vincenzo (Arg)
1956: Peter Thomson (Aus)
1947: Fred Daly (NIR)
1936: Alf Padgham (Eng)
1930: Bobby Jones (a) (US)
1924: Walter Hagen (US)
1913: JH Taylor (Eng)
1907: Arnaud Massy (Fra)
1902: Sandy Herd (Sco)
1897: Harold Hilton (a) (Eng)

Will Rory McIlroy be next?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *