How to follow the Cathedral Invitational

The 2023 Cathedral Invitational is only open to the public on Wednesday but it hosts a field that includes Adam Scott, Grace Kim and Cameron Smith.

Media release via Australian Golf Media

The Australian majors are in the books, but there is still more golf to be played, with some of the big names moving from the ISPS HANDA Australian Open in Sydney to Thornton, Victoria and the Cathedral Invitational.

Held at the stunning Cathedral Lodge and Golf Club two hours’ drive north of Melbourne, the Greg Norman layout sits beautifully in the land surrounded by Cathedral Mountain and was the brainchild of David Evans.

Crafting a course that is playable for the members that also challenges the top players in town for this week’s two-day event, Cathedral Lodge is arguably the star of the show despite the field including the likes of Adam Scott, Cameron Smith, Grace Kim, Gabi Ruffels and a host of other Aussie stars. The tournament comprising a field of men and women, with one amateur teeing it up this week, 2023 Asia-Pacific Amateur Champion Jasper Stubbs, who was low amateur at last week’s Australian Open.

Open to the public for day two of the tournament on Wednesday, a ticket offers the chance to have a rare look inside the gates for non-members and their guests, with public buying a ticket going in the draw to win a round of golf at Cathedral Lodge and Golf Club.

Kicking off today with a Pro-Member portion, with the pro’s scores counting towards their tournament total, the Cathedral Invitational offers a prize purse of $300,000 with a winner’s cheque of $100,000.

Last year, that prize went to Nick Flannagan, who is back in the field this week alongside some of the biggest names in Australian golf, with former Ryder Cup hero Nicolas Colsaerts of Belgium and 2022 Australian All-Abilities Championship winner Kipp Popert adding some international flavour.

A broadcast of the tournament will be compiled and shown on Fox Sports, Kayo and Channel 9 on Christmas Eve.

For live scoring and the latest news visit Exclusive content and tournament updates will also be posted regularly on the PGA Tour of Australasia’s social media channels.

Instagram: @pgatouraus
Twitter: @PGAofAustralia
Facebook: @PGATourAus
Official hashtag: #CI23

2022 Nick Flannagan

64 Matt Jager

Greg Norman (2017)

Adam Scott, 2013 Masters Champion
Cameron Smith, 2022 Open Champion
Marc Leishman, Six-time PGA Tour winner
Geoff Ogilvy, 2006 U.S. Open Champion
Grace Kim, 2023 Lotte Championship winner
Gabriella Ruffels, 2019 U.S. Women’s Amateur winner
David Micheluzzi, 2022/23 Challenger PGA Tour of Australasia Order of Merit winner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *