PRESIDENTS CUP / Jordan Spieth disqualified from hole after bizarre rules violation

Bizarre ruling sees Jordan Spieth disqualified from hole after picking up Louis Oosthuizen’s golf ball.

The International Team haven’t won many holes at the 2017 Presidents Cup but they were gifted one during the Saturday afternoon four-ball match between Jordan Spieth/Patrick Reed and Jason Day/Louis Ooosthuizen.

Louis Oosthuizen putted from behind the 12th green and when Spieth saw it roll past the hole he decided to concede the next shot, picking up Oosthuizen’s golf ball. The problem was the ball was still in motion when Spieth picked it up resulting in the Americans being disqualified from the hole.

Technically, he disrupted the path of a golf ball in motion and as ridiculous as it sounds it still could have gone closer to the hole.

Day and Oosthuizen made it clear they did not want the ruling to go ahead but like all of us, and even Tiger Woods got involved and joined a number of players to surround the rules official while he was waiting for a ruling.

While it’s a bizarre ruling, it wasn’t a good look to have so many players and captains surrounding the official while he was simply trying to do his job.

The Internationals were eventually awarded the hole but the US team eventually won the match 2&1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *