PRESIDENTS CUP Ernie Els adds Jason Day, Sungjae Im, Adam Hadwin and Joaquin Niemann to International Team

The International Presidents Cup team is now confirmed after Ernie Els made his four captain’s picks.

Presidents Cup captain of the International team Ernie Els has made his four additions to be a part of the International Team that will take on the US at Royal Melbourne in December.

Jason Day will make his fifth Presidents Cup appearance after getting the nod from Els.

Korea’s Sungjae Im, Canada’s Adam Hadwin and Chile’s Joaquin Niemann will also be making a Presidents Cup appearance in Melbourne. And in the case of Niemann, he will be the first-ever Chilean golfer to play in the event.

From the official Presidents Cup media release:

MELBOURNE, Victoria, Australia – With the 13th Presidents Cup set to begin in just over a month at The Royal Melbourne Golf Club, the final four players for the International Team were determined today as International Team Captain Ernie Els announced his captain’s picks. Els chose Jason Day of Australia, Adam Hadwin of Canada, Sungjae Im of Korea and Joaquín Niemann of Chile.

The Presidents Cup will return to Melbourne, Australia, and The Royal Melbourne Golf Club for the third time, December 9-15, when the International Team, led by Captain Els, will take on the U.S. Team, led by Captain Tiger Woods.

For the first time in Presidents Cup history, each captain makes four captain’s picks instead of two. Captain Els will lead the youngest International Team in Presidents Cup history, with the average age of his 12 players totaling just over 29 years old. This is also the fourth consecutive International Team that has been younger than the previous team.

With these picks, this will also be the most diverse International Team in Presidents Cup history, with players from Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Taipei, Japan, South Korea, Mexico and South Africa. This is the first time that the International Team will include players from China, Mexico, Chinese Taipei and Chile. Host country Australia has four players set to compete at Royal Melbourne, with Day joining Leishman, Scott and Smith.

The International Team also has 22 previous Presidents Cup appearances amongst its members with six players making their Presidents Cup debuts, which matches the second-most first-timers in team history (7, 2013).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *