OLYMPIC GOLF Men’s Final Olympic Golf Rankings Published

The final Men’s Olympic Golf Rankings have been published. Players now need to decide if they are going to play.

Press release

LAUSANNE, SWITZERLAND (June 22, 2021) – The extended three-year qualification process for the men’s golf competition at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games has been completed with today’s publication of the Final Olympic Golf Rankings.

With his U.S. Open victory on Sunday, Jon Rahm of Spain became world number one and jumped Justin Thomas of the United States into the No. 1 position of the Olympic Rankings. Americans finished Nos. 2-5 with Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Xander Schauffele and Bryson DeChambeau, respectively. The United States is the only country with more than two qualifiers for the 60-player field, which will compete at Kasumigaseki Country Club from July 29-August 1.

The men’s rankings underline the diversity of the field with 36 countries represented.

The men’s qualification system for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games commenced on July 1, 2018 and originally was to have concluded on June 22, 2020, while the women’s was to have run from July 8, 2018 through to June 29, 2020. However, following the postponement of the Olympics to 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the IGF and International Olympic Committee announced in April 2020 an adjustment to the qualifying system where athletes would accumulate Olympic Ranking points through June 2021.

The top-15 world-ranked players are eligible for the Olympics, with a limit of four players from a given country. Beyond the top-15, players are eligible based on the world rankings, with a maximum of two eligible players from each country that does not already have two or more players among the top-15. The host country is guaranteed a spot, as is each of the five continents of the Olympics.

The women’s rankings will be finalized after this week’s KPMG Women’s PGA Championship. The 60-player women’s competition will be held at Kasumigaseki CC August 4-7.

Once the women’s Olympic Golf Rankings are finalized, the International Golf Federation (IGF) will send confirmation of the men’s and women’s quota places to the National Olympic Committees. The NOCs will then confirm use of allocated quota places to the IGF by July 1 and the IGF, in turn, will reallocate all unused quota places before the Tokyo 2020 Sport Entries Deadline on July 5.

The IGF will publish a final entries list of 60 names for both the men’s and women’s events on Tuesday, July 6, which will ratify all the competitors for the respective fields at the Olympic Games.

Field Rank OWGR Name Country Field Rank OWGR Name Country
1 1 Jon Rahm ESP 31 107 Thomas Pieters BEL
2 3 Justin Thomas USA 32 117 Kalle Samooja FIN
3 4 Collin Morikawa USA 33 118 Matthias Schwab AUT
4 5 Xander Schauffele USA 34 121 Rasmus Hojgaard DEN
5 6 Bryson DeChambeau USA 35 122 Sami Valimaki FIN
6 10 Rory McIlroy IRL 36 129 Jazz Janewattananond THA
7 14 Viktor Hovland NOR 37 130 Jhonattan Vegas VEN
8 16 Hideki Matsuyama JPN 38 133 Francesco Molinari ITA
9 20 Paul Casey GBR 39 136 Henrik Norlander SWE
10 23 Abraham Ancer MEX 40 140 Rafa Cabrera Bello ESP
11 26 Sungjae Im KOR 41 146 Mito Pereira CHI
12 28 Cameron Smith AUS 42 151 Joachim B Hansen DEN
13 31 Joaquin Niemann CHI 43 167 Rory Sabbatini SVK
14 33 Tommy Fleetwood GBR 44 174 Sepp Straka AUT
15 36 Corey Conners CAN 45 178 Ryan Fox NZL
16 37 Victor Perez FRA 46 181 C.T. Pan TPE
17 38 Garrick Higgo RSA 47 189 Adrian Meronk POL
18 42 Shane Lowry IRL 48 193 Maximilian Kieffer GER
19 43 Marc Leishman AUS 49 216 Juvic Pagunsan PHI
20 46 Christiaan Bezuidenhout RSA 50 231 Ondrej Lieser CZE
21 49 Si Woo Kim KOR 51 239 Scott Vincent ZIM
22 53 Carlos Ortiz MEX 52 259 Gunn Charoenkul THA
23 63 Mackenzie Hughes CAN 53 263 Hurly Long GER
24 67 Sebastián Muñoz COL 54 280 Fabrizio Zanotti PAR
25 72 Guido Migliozzi ITA 55 281 Rafael Campos PUR
26 74 Emiliano Grillo ARG 56 286 Gavin Kyle Green MAS
27 76 Rikuya Hoshino JPN 57 291 Carl Yuan CHN
28 78 Antoine Rozner FRA 58 292 Kristian Johannessen NOR
29 94 Thomas Detry BEL 59 315 Ashun Wu CHN
30 95 Alex Noren SWE 60 340 Anirban Lahiri IND

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *