Internationals win 1998 Presidents Cup: video

We’ll be rolling this video out, until the International Team win the Presidents Cup again.

The Internationals have only won the Presidents Cup once. At Royal Melbourne in 1998 they swept aside the US Team to win 20.5 to 11.5. Most highlights from the victory include that memorable chip from Craig Parry. This one is no different.

The International Team included four Australians; Craig Parry, Greg Norman, Steve Elkington and Stuart Appleby. Greg Turner and Frank Nobilo – who didn’t really like each other – made up the Kiwi contingent with Nick Price and Ernie Els represented the African continent. The rest of the team included Carlos Franco from Paraguay, Shigeki Maruyama and Joe Osaki from Japan and Vijay Singh.

Interestingly, Shigeki Maruyama was the only International player to win all of his matches finishing with a 5-0-0 win-loss-tie record.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *