Collin Morikawa makes history, wins DP World Tour Championship

Collin Morikawa has become the first American winner of the Race to Dubai title after claiming a three-stroke win at the DP World Tour Championship.

Morikawa, the 2021 Open Championship winner, made five birdies in the last seven holes to storm to victory with a four-round total of 17-under par, three strokes ahead of England’s Matt Fitzpatrick and Sweden’s Alexander Bjork.

Overnight leader Rory McIlroy held a one-stroke lead with four holes to play before a pitch shot at the par-4 15th hole ricocheted off the flagstick and into the bunker.

The unlucky break led to a bogey, one of three over the closing four holes, sliding McIlroy down the leaderboard into a tie for sixth place.

Australia’s Min Woo Lee was one of six players in with a shot of winning the lucrative Race to Dubai before the tournament began.

After an opening even-par round, Lee carded three consecutive 3-under par rounds of 69 to finish eight strokes behind Morikawa and sixth overall on the Race to Dubai standings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *