Mickelson, Haas, Bowditch and Bae selected for 2015 Presidents Cup

Nick Price and Jay Haas have finalised their 2015 Presidents Cup teams to meet in South Korea.

Australia’s Steven Bowditch and South Korea’s Sangmoon Bae have been selected by Nick Price to make up his 12-man International Team to take on the US at the 2015 Presidents Cup in South Korea, October 8 – 11.

Steven Bowditch joins three other Australians on the International Team who automatically qualified for the team including Jason Day, Adam Scott and Marc Leishman.

Korea’s Sangmoon Bae will quite possibly be playing his last tournament at the Presidents Cup before completing two years of mandatory military service in South Korea. Bae had been trying to get a waver due to his high profile professional sports career but a court ruling in July ruled that the 29-year-old must complete his two years military service which will put his golf career on hold after the Presidents Cup. US Team captain Jay Haas added Bill Haas and Phil Mickelson to his team. Mickelson will make his 11th consecutive appearance on the Presidents Cup team in October being selected as a captain’s pick for only the second time. the first time was back in 1994 – the other selection that year, Jay Haas. Earlier this week, the first 10 spots on each of the International and US Presidents Cup teams were finalised and include the first Indian player to have ever represented the International Team in Anirban Lahiri. Lahiri has had a break-out season including two victories earlier in the year and some great performances at some recent big events including a fifth place at both the PGA Championship and the European Masters.

Thongchai Jaidee will also make history becoming the first player from Thailand to be a part of a Presidents Cup team.

There were no changes to the automatic berth’s in the US Team during the final week of qualifying which meant Jay Haas was given the slightly awkward task of choosing his son Bill Haas as a captain’s pick. The decision was made slightly easier given Bill Haas has had a good 2015 on tour and finished 11th in the Presidents Cup rankings.

The final teams are:

Jason Day (Australia)
Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa)
Adam Scott (Australia)
Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)
Branden Grace (South Africa)
Marc Leishman (Australia)
Anirban Lahiri (India)
Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)
Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand)
Danny Lee (New Zealand)
Steven Bowditch (Australia)
Sangmoon Bae (South Korea)
Nick Price (captain)

Team USA
Jordan Spieth
Bubba Watson
Jimmy Walker
Zach Johnson
Jim Furyk
Dustin Johnson
Patrick Reed
Rickie Fowler
Matt Kuchar
Chris Kirk
Bill Haas
Phil Mickelson
Jay Haas (captain)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *