Justin Thomas won the 2017 PGA Championship but along the way he sunk a putt that took a very long time to fall in the hole.
Justin Thomas arrived at the par-5 10th hole during his final round at Quail Hollow two shots behind
The 22-year-old American walked away in disgust after seeing the golf ball hang over the edge of the cup. But 12 seconds later, just as Thomas was about to tap the ball into the hole for par, it fell into the cup for birdie.
Golf rule 16-2 deals with the issue – in a vague way that makes Thomas’ situation perfectly fine..
It allows the golfer enough time to reach the hole (without unreasonable delay) and then another 10 seconds to determine if the golf ball is at rest. If it falls into the hole before then, the putt stands.
But if it falls into the hole after this time the golfer is deemed to have holed out with his previous shot and needs to add a penalty stroke to his score
Soon after this dramatic moment that will live long in PGA Championship history, five golfers were tied atop the leaderboard; Francesco Molinari, Justin Thomas, Hideki Matsuyama, Chris Stroud and Kevin Kisner.
But it was Thomas who went on to make two more birdies in his next seven holes to emerge from the pack and win the PGA Championship by two-strokes.
“Once it got there I felt like it was going to go in, and it just didn’t,” Thomas said.
“I kind of acted like a child and threw a little tantrum over there, and then all of a sudden it went in, so I didn’t look so dumb.”