Tiger Woods faces disqualification from Masters

Tiger Woods is staring at disqualification from the Masters after a dodgy drop in round two.

Tiger Woods drop

There is plenty of talk about Tiger Woods’ drop on the 15th hole during his second round of The Masters yesterday. If he’s proven to have dropped incorrectly, he may be disqualified from the tournament.

After Woods hit the flagstick with his third shot┬áthe ball careered into the water leaving Tiger with three choices: Drop in the designated drop zone, drop back along the line between where the ball last crossed the line of the hazard and the flagstick, or ‘as near as possible’ to where he played the previous shot.

Tiger chose the last option after surveying the drop zone area but he appears to have dropped the ball two yards behind where he played his previous shot, “as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made” as Rule 26 subscribes.

Compounding Woods’ problem will be his post-round interview yesterday where he all but admitted he didn’t drop it “as nearly as possible”.”I went down to the drop area, that wasn’t going to be a good spot, because obviously it’s into the grain, it’s really grainy there. And it was a little bit wet. So it was muddy and not a good spot to drop”, Woods said.

“So I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further back. I tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit – that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back.”

“I felt that that was going to be the right decision to take off four right there. And I did. It worked out perfectly.”Well, maybe not so perfectly. Things could get interesting. Stay tuned.