Declare it unplayable anywhere but in a water hazard

Share Button

Here’s a strange quirk in the rules and something Aussie Golfer has never really thought of before. A golfer can declare the ball unplayable anywhere on the golf course except in a water hazard. This means that a player can declare a ball just hit into a bunker unplayable, even if it is perfectly playable!

And according to the rules from the R&A, the player is sole judge on whether a ball is unplayable.

The player takes a one shot penalty and has 3 options according to rule 28:

1) drop and play as near as possible to where the original ball was last played,
2) drop a ball behind the point where the ball lay, keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, or
3) drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole.

There’s a catch with this for the ball declared unplayable in a bunker. If the player chooses options 2 or 3, the ball must be dropped in the bunker.

Probably an option for bad bunker players but somehow it feels like this contradicts the spirit of the game.

Leave a comment

0 comments on “Declare it unplayable anywhere but in a water hazard

  • August 15, 2008 at 3:09 am
    Permalink

    Really interesting and thanks for the heads up. May have to use this rule this weekend as I’m playing on a course with a ton of trees

    Reply
  • August 15, 2008 at 3:09 am
    Permalink

    Really interesting and thanks for the heads up. May have to use this rule this weekend as I’m playing on a course with a ton of trees

    Reply