Not content with text? Try this video or poster view of the proposed anchoring rule change. In addition to the official statement on banning anchoring today by the USGA and the R&A, they have also released a few (very serious) videos and a poster view of the proposed rule change which will come into effect in 2016.Read more
Surprise, surprise. The R&A and USGA have finally (and unexpectedly) made a decision on anchoring, which deem the stroke illegal from January 1, 2016.
Here is the statement made by both of golf’s ruling bodies earlier this morning:
“The R&A and the United States Golf Association (USGA), golf’s governing bodies, today announced proposed changes to the Rules of Golf that would prohibit anchoring the club in making a stroke.Read more
Would you DQ yourself six days after a golf tournament?
An American golfer by the name of Blayne Barber has dreams of making it to the PGA Tour like every other golfer. He was well on his way to the second stage of PGA Tour qualifying last week by easily passing the first stage with five shots to spare.Read more
Don’t mention the ball.
We have all been in the situation when chipping or putting from off the green and another players golf ball lies somewhere near the hole, and which may provide a useful back stop. But what if your partner or opponent goes to mark the ball, can you request them to leave it as it lies?Read more
What you can and can’t do in a bunker.
Last week’s PGA Championship featured a quirky local rule that meant all ‘bunkers’ were considered ‘through the green’, meaning you could play a practice shot and touch the surface of the sand in the process.
This was a local rule brought in at the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island.Read more
Here is a story about a European Tour player’s caddie, who dug a hole and then proceeded to dig it much deeper.
During the opening round of this week’s BMW Championship, José Manuel Lara’s caddie realised there were 15 clubs in the bag. Keeping tabs on the number of clubs in the golf bag is generally accepted as being the caddie’s responsibility, but there is a two-stroke penalty for the golfer for each hole played with more than 14 clubs in the bag, up to a maximum of four strokes.Read more
In the spirit of reporting on golf news that could potentially affect us all, we bring you another rules reminder courtesy of Crowne Plaza Invitational winner, Zach Johnson.
Zach Johnson won the PGA Tour Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial today (see video below), but the details of his one-stroke victory over Jason Dufner is interesting and a reminder to us all about marking your golf ball correctly.Read more
Careful where you step when walking towards your golf ball.
We highlighted a couple of week’s ago (with tongue firmly in check) how golf is much easier on the professional tour thanks to grandstands you can use to guide your ball around the golf course.
Conversely, golf is becoming more difficult for professional golfers on the big tours thanks to TV coverage.Read more
A little rules reminder today on about alignment aids during a round of golf.
It concerns the act of aligning yourself with golf clubs during a round of golf.
I’m guessing that most golfers were guess that aligning yourself with foreign objects (e.g. sticks, swing guides) are probably illegal during the course of as round, but what about with your own golf clubs?Read more
Edit: Golf Show video no longer available. Replaced with this one from GolfCanada.
Ossie Moore took viewers through an important rule concerning immovable obstructions, that I’m guessing many golfers aren’t aware of.
If your ball comes to rest near an immovable obstruction, such as a tree stake, sprinkler head or cart path, you may take relief without penalty – drop at the nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole.Read more
Rory McIlroy hit the wrong golf ball during last weekend’s Madrid Masters, but it was deemed ok.
There have been a few interesting scenarios on the pro tours lately which have tested the rules officials. Kevin Na’s air-swing was closely looked at and deemed ok last week, John Daly ended up withdrawing over a rule infringement and this week, Rory McIlroy was caught up in a strange ruling.Read more
A little rules reminder today courtesy of an angry PGA Tour player.
Nick Watney was playing good golf once again last week and found himself towards the top of the leaderboard going into the final round of the Deutsche Bank Championship. At the second hole, everything went pear shaped.Read more
A nice rules reminder video to end the week on the rules on hitting a provisional golf ball.Read more